“Being Humble means recognizing that we are not on earth to see how important we can become, but to see how much difference we can make in the lives of others.” -Gordon B. Hinckley

by The Merna

You know the people who enter a room and suddenly absorb all the energy and claim everyone’s attention? I’ve been thinking about these kinds of people a lot lately. A lot.

I’ve been trying to decide if that is really the best way to approach life, to approach other people. I’ve been doing some observing.

First observation: I realized that for a good portion of the last few years I have felt a need to be this sort of person. I have felt the need to be the person that can work a room, work a crowd, know everyone, charm anyone, and claim attention. I liked to be “charismatic” I liked to be “articulate” or “witty” or just, I dunno, I liked to be “important.”

I can truly be an idiot.

Second Observation: Not only did I like to be this person, but I liked to date this person. Somehow I always found myself drawn to the “top dog” the “alpha,” the guy who could schmooze and charm anyone. The guy that was the obvious pick because he was so dang….personable, charming, outgoing?

Well now, here’s the thing. There are many valuable and wonderful qualities about being charming and outgoing. I mean, we can’t exactly become like God and really love people if we can’t socialize. Notice I say socialize, I do NOT say, schmooze.

Socialize: “To mix socially with others.” Syn.: interact, converse, be sociable, mix, mingle, get tougher, meet.”

Observation Three: But I’ve been watching people. I’ve been watching people that I admire. President Hinckley is an example of someone I admire. I think of members of the high council in my stake, I think of my friend Bianca from high school, or my friend Katie Alger from Florida. I think of leaders I’ve loved the most, coaches who have motivated me to change, teachers who really taught me something.

And you know what? 9 times out of 10, they were humble.

The Savior of the world, The Son of God, could have come to the earth that He created and to the inhabitants that He gave life to, to be “worshipped.” But He did not. He came to serve.

 He was humble.

The most humble of all.

I mean, how many times in the scriptures do you read a story about how charismatic The Savior was? How many stories do you read about how popular He was? Conversely, how many times do we read about him focusing on the one? Or speaking with and healing the outsiders, the “uncool” the “unclean” the “sinners.” The Savior was not an attention-hog. He was kind and humble, meek and gentle.

I’m so glad that in the recent months I have come to realize this difference, and to appreciate those who are humble. I admire them, they are respectable, they are easy to trust, quick to love, and apt to serve selflessly.

